Dr. Carol A. Barnes - Honors and Awards

Member, National Institute on Aging Center for Alzheimer's and Related Dementia's (CARD) Advisory Group, 2019-present

Elected to National Academy of Sciences, 2018

Membership to the academy is one of the highest honors a scientist can receive. It is reserved for those with distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

The National Academy of Sciences is a private nonprofit that claims 2,382 active members in the United States and 484 nonvoting members from around the world.

MOCA Local Genius Award, 2017

The MOCA Local Genius Awards honors those visionary and innovative Tucsonans whose activities have a global impact, and whose talents have been internationally recognized. The Awards are a testament to the rich intellectual diversity of Tucson and a reflection of MOCA's commitment to honoring cutting edge creativity in all disciplines and practices.

Quad-L award, 2017

The Quad-L award is intended to honor a distinguished contemporary scientist who is actively engaged in research in some facet of learning/memory/cognition. Among previous awardees are: Robert A. Rescorla, Larry R. Squire, Brenda Milner, Michael I. Posner, Anne Treisman, James L. McClelland.

APA Award for Distinguished Scientific Contributions, 2014

The APA Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award, first given in 1956, recognizes senior scientists for distinguished theoretical or empirical contributions to basic research in psychology.

Ralph W. Gerard Prize in Neuroscience, Society for Neuroscience, 2013

Dr. Carol A. Barnes  getting award at neuroscience 2013

2013 Ralph W. Gerard Prize awardee Carol A. Barnes, PhD with SfN Past President Larry W. Swanson, PhD.

Joe Shymanski, Society for Neuroscience

The prestigious Ralph W. Gerard Prize in Neuroscience is the highest honor awarded by the Society for Neuroscience. The prize honors an outstanding scientist who has made significant contributions to the field of neuroscience throughout his or her career. 







Galileo Fellow, College of Science, University of Arizona, 2011 - present

2010 APA Division 6 D.B. Marquis Behavioral Neuroscience Award for Behavioral Neuroscience, 124:559-573, 2010

Society for Neuroscience Mika Salpeter Lifetime Achievement Award, 2010

2009 APA Division 6 D.B. Marquis Behavioral Neuroscience Award for Behavioral Neuroscience, 122:535-548, 2008

Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2007 - present

Endowed Chair: Evelyn F. McKnight Chair for Learning and Memory in Aging, 2006 - present

Regents Professor, University of Arizona, 2006 - present

MERIT Award, National Advisory Council on Aging, 2004 - 2014

Foreign Member, The Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters (Natural Sciences), 2004 -present

ADAMHA Research Scientist Award, National Institute of Mental Health, 1994 -1999

ADAMHA Research Scientist Development Award, National Institute of Mental Health, 1989 -1994

Research Career Development Award, National Institutes of Health, 1984 -1989

NATO Postdoctoral Fellowship in Science, 1981-1982

NIH National Research Service Award, 1979 -1981

Ontario Graduate Fellowship, 1972-1974

Elected Phi Beta Kappa, 1971

National Science Foundation Summer Research Fellowship, 1969